After a twenty-seven game win streak, an all-out joust with Indiana, and  seven grueling games, the Miami Heat have been crowned NBA champions.

The Miami Heat defeated the San Antonio Spurs 95-88 to repeat as NBA champions. Miami won the best-of-seven series 4-3, recovering from a 3-2 hole by winning the final two games.

The game was tight wire-to-wire. In the first quarter, the Spurs started out strong and grabbed a seven point lead early. The Heat responded quickly, and led the game 18-16 after one.

The second quarter was a back-and-forth affair. Each team traded threes, layups, free throws, turnovers, and the kitchen sink. Dwyane Wade and LeBron James led the Miami charge, while Tony Parker and Tim Duncan countered in opposition. At the end of the half, the Heat led 46-44.

To the third quarter, where again it was neck and neck. Role players such as Gary Neal and Kawhi Leonard fueled San Antonio. LeBron James took matters into his own hands for the heat, accompanied by Shane Battier’s rekindled sharpshooting. The Heat led be one heading into the fourth, after a Mario Chalmers three at the buzzer.

An exhilarating fourth quarter flew by. The Heat looked to break out, pushing the Spurs to the brink. San Antonio never fell of the edge, however, as hey continued to provide answers. Late in the game, Mario Chalmers missed two free throws to give the Spurs a chance to tie, having rallied from two possessions down. Tim Duncan found a hole in the paint, but the future Hall of Famer missed the easy bucket. The HEat would go on to extend the lead to seven, and repeat as NBA champions.

Photo: Bleacher Report

Leave Your Thoughts!

Check Also

Bellator 186 Recap

University Park, PA: The MMA world descended on the Bryce Jordan Center, on the campus of …